"Unlink your document and Zotero will ensure that the bibliography appears correctly on any device."

Dear community,

This is the first time I reach for help with zotero, which always work fine until now.

I try to send a part of my thesis to my director (who didn't use Zotero), and I want to avoid the problems we always have with the footnotes (they just became ugly, with no style at all, like no majs or italic). So, I try to "unlink" my doc and Zotero. But that's just make the style of the footnotes disappear.
I'm really disappointed because I always read "Unlink your document and Zotero will ensure that the bibliography appears correctly on any device." and in this case its just a lie...

How can I do ?
I use the style Annales histoire sociales, as I'm doing a PhD in French medieval history in a French university, and it's the most accurate style I found.

I try to edit the bibliography at the end of my chapter, and unlink again, but it's still don't work well.

I can make a copy of my screen if needed, but I really need help, as I have to send him that chapter really soon, and as he always get mad when the footnotes are wrong (and as I don't want to do it manually, or I will not use Zotero !!)

Thank you very much,

An upset user by now.
  • Please see https://www.zotero.org/support/reporting_problems

It is not clear whether you are having problems with Zotero because of bugs or some misunderstanding. Try to isolate a behaviour that you think Zotero is not doing correctly and describe it step by step. E.g.:

1. In a fresh document insert a citation with Annales histoire sociales style
    2. Unlink field codes
    3. Styling for the footnote citation is lost
  • Sorry sometimes computers can be frustrated.

I did exactly what you suggest and styling of the footnote citation is lost as you say.

I also try your suggestion with an other style (modern humanities research association).
    When I unlink, the style goes away too (no more italic in the footnotes).