(How) does store references in document actually work?

I am an editor, meaning that I receive Word documents from authors who have used Zotero for their references. Often the references need fixing, and I want to do this via Zotero rather than manually changing every iteration in the Word document. But unless the references have been taken from a group library that I am a member of, it doesn't work - whether they've stored references in the document or not (as far as I can see this option makes no difference whatsoever).

This is annoying, as many of the authors have huge My Librarys, and I don't want them to have to copy over every reference they want to use into a new Group Library.

I've tried that trick of creating a new library from the references in the document ... but the in-text citations are still connected to the original library, not the new library, so it's not much help.

Am I missing something? Or does anyone have a suggested workaround? I use 5.0 on a Mac (OS X).

Thanks.
  • “Store references in document” embeds the citation data in the document so that citations/bibliography can be reformatted (e.g., to change styles or reorder citations) without having access to the item in your own Zotero database. It’s purpose is to enable transportability of documents across users, not editing of the references necessarily. (The option itself has been removed in current versions of Zotero—it is now always enabled—you should update your Zotero to the current version).

You can view the embedded citation data for Zotero fields by typing Alt+F9 or right-clicking on the citation and choosing Toggle Field Codes. You could try to edit the embedded data there. I’m not sure if that would work, or what the effect would be if you send the document back to the authors for revisions. I suspect changes to the embedded data would be overridden by their original incorrect data in their library.