Is that possible to use WebDAV or symbolic link toghther with ZotFile?

Dear everyone,
I am a freshman to Zotero. I want to get some advice on the choice of syncing at the beginning, because I think with the number of the items increasing in my library, it will be much harder to change from one method to another.
I have read the documentation and I'd prefer to use WebDAV or symbolic linked 'storage' folder in cloud-sync to sync my attached files at this moment.
However, the plugin ZotFile has some useful fucntions including rename the attached file and extract the annotations from PDFs. So, I want to use this plugin together with WebDAV or symbolic link. ZotFile can help me to rename the file name based on a customized rules and extract the annotations.
I am sorry I did not find much informations about how to use ZotFile with WebDAV or symbolic links toghther. Are there any possible conficts between them? Could you please give me some advices?
Any help would be much appreciated!
  • In the Zotfile preferences, for Location of Files, choose "Attach stored copy of file(s)". That will rename the files in place. Between WebDAV and symbolic link, I would recommend WebDAV, as it is less error prone.
  • Dear bwiernik,
    Thanks very much for your answer!
    If I choose "Attach stored copy of file(s)", then ZotFile will just rename the files without moving them, is that right? So the files are still located in a subfolder named after 8 random characters?
    And I am a little confused about the difference between WebDAV and symbolic link. I thought both of creating a subfolder in the cloud sync folder and using the cloud sync to sync them. Could you please tell me more about why WebDAV would generate less error?
  • Yes, “Attach stored copy of files” will have Zotero manage where the files are stored—in the eight character folders in storage—and only use Zotfile to rename.