author of edited dbook in book section

I have an edited book chapter I want to cite. I have the book in the library, and added a book section with the chapter title author etc. but there is no place for the book author. Are these automatically linked. This is my first time using Zotero and it is NOT that great. thank you,
  • This is my first time using Zotero and it is NOT that great. thank you,
    That's NOT that great of a way to introduce yourself here...

See https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/edited_volumes_and_book_chapters
    for how to input chapters from edited volumes.
  • Thank you! Very helpful. I also didn't mean to be a kvetch. I actually meant it was not going very well for me...and when I see all the problems in the forum...I think it is going to take some time for me to realize the real benefits of this application. I appreciate your help!
  • I have followed the instructions to add a chapter in a book (and author) and looked in vain for the field to enter the author of the book. I followed the instructions in the link above-- but there is no book author field that appears.

I need this field. Can you help?
  • Book Author is one of the options in the Creator type drop down menu (alongside Author, Editor, Translator, etc.)
  • Thank you for your response, but I can't find the option you suggest. Perhaps I need to be more explicit:

Trying to find an answer to how to add Book Editor for a source that is a chapter in an edited volume, I found the reply tthis reply:

"A book chapter from an edited volume is entered as a “Book Section”. Click the green new item button and select “Book Section”. You will now see both a “Title” field for the chapter title and a separate “Book Title” field. To add an editor click the + sign on the author line in the right column. This will create an additional Author line. If you click the triangle to the left of the new author field you will be able to change it to an editor. "