How do I work with Zotfile and Zotero to extract Skim annotations? It won't work for me...

As the title:

I'm a newbie to Zotero, but I've added a few webpages (using the Zotero browser plugin) as well as a few downloaded PDFs to my Zotero library. I use Skim to highlight some passages, then return to Zotero, right click and choose "Manage Attachments->Extract Annotations". Zotero puts up a little dialog saying Zotfile is doing that, then after a moment the dialog disappears. And that's it. Nothing has been extracted. I am using a Mac, 10.12.4, Zotero 5.0.30, Zotfile 5.0.6, Skim 1.4.30 (104).

Another unrelated question: if I add a PDF directly to the Zotero library, I am told Zotfile can't extract annotations because it's a top level item -- so I right-click and do "create parent item". Why is this necessary? Am I doing the right thing? (Even when I do this, I still can't extract annotations, as per above)
  • Extract annotations doesn't work with Skim, which stores PDF annotations in a non-standard format.
  • Regarding your second question, when Zotfile extracts annotations (which requires they be stored in the Standard PDF format—as is done by Preview, Acrobat Reader, and most other programs, but not Skim), it attaches the annotations as a note to the PDF's parent item. Notes can't be attached like that to a bare PDF file in Zotero. In general, you always want to work with regular Zotero items (not bare PDF files) in Zotero, as this opens up most of Zotero's features (searching, sorting, generating citations, etc.).

See here for more details on getting items into your Zotero library:
    http://zotero.org/support/getting_stuff_into_your_library
  • edited December 6, 2017