Syncing Error & Citation Format Issues With Word Extension

edited November 4, 2017
Hello,

Please tell me if I need to divide this post into different issues. I'm not very experienced with how to do so.

I've migrated to Zotero Stand alone but always used the Firefox version before.

Today I was trying to cite in word as I always have and the files I'd most recently added were not showing in their collection in the Word citation pop-up.

However, they showed in the stand-alone Zotero.

I wondered if syncing was important so I ran a manual sync but got this error:

Report ID: 531326218 ( don't know if I need to paste the whole error text or if the ID is enough?)

Methods I attempted:

- I re-installed the Word extension
- updated the status of the Firefox integration
- Re-started word
- Re-started Zotero stand alone

When I did that, the files disappeared from the stand alone as well.

I'm now getting it to cite, *but* the citations aren't looking like they're supposed to. They aren't including the URL or some basic info.

I went into the Style Editor and Style Preview and they display correctly there, but not when cited.

Here is an example in an annotated screenshot (probably better than me trying to explain it in written form): https://screencast.com/t/hHo3M8xldma

Thank you so much for your time!

---

Here is my info if helpful

version => 5.0.24, platform => MacIntel, oscpu => Intel Mac OS X 10.12, locale => en-US, appName => Zotero, appVersion => 5.0.24, extensions => Zotero Word for Mac Integration (5.0.2.SA.5.0.24, extension), Zotero LibreOffice Integration (5.0.6.SA.5.0.24, extension), Shockwave Flash (27.0.0.183, plugin)
  • 1. The items not showing is very odd. Definitely unrelated to syncing. The Word add-on communicates directly with the local Zotero Standalone. Do they show up when you search for them? Can you create side-by-side screenshots of the collections in the add citation dialog and in Standalone?

2. Two possible reasons: