Tagging relationships

It would be nice to be able to tag the relationship between items, e.g. something like:

<dc:relation RDF:resource="#item:2613">
<dc:subject>artistic influence</dc:subject>
</dc:relation>

This would allow an ad-hoc semantic net to be layered on Zotero's inherent research semantics.

Cooler still would be an ability to use Zotero nodes to impose rich descriptions of "related" entries such that you can layer a semantic hyper-net on Zotero's built-in semantics (i.e. relationships become rich, reusable nodes rather than simple keywords). The syntax might look like:

<dc:relation RDF:resource="#item:2613">
<dc:subject RDF:resource="#item:6955"/>
</dc:relation>

I'm not a RDF expert by any stretch, and this might be complete RDF gibberish, but the intent here would be to express that there is a relationship to #item:2613 and that this relationship is described by #item:6955 (which may presumably have subordinate relation terms).
  • edited April 6, 2007
    Yeah, your description and examples are a little funky/unclear.

The key to RDF is the graph (of relationships), and the nodes in that graph are identified by URIs. So anything where it might be valuable to merge data across, you want to define as an identified resource.

So for your "artistic influence" tag, you could give it a URI:

<skos:Concept rdf:about="http://zotero.org/concepts/artistic_influence">
    <skos:label xml:lang="en">artistic influence</skos:label>
    </skos:Concept>

Then, anytime anyone uses that URI, like ...

<dc:subject rdf:resource="http://zotero.org/concepts/artistic_influence"/>

... you know they're referring to the same thing. The URI becomes like a global database key.
  • I was thinking more along the lines of modeling the kinds of relationships described in this paper:
    http://www.dcc.uchile.cl/~cgutierr/ftp/bipartite.pdf.