Zotero extra / Bibtex note - how not to show?

Hi, wow, I'm really impressed with zotero. It is like the application that I didn't know I needed, but now I couldn't live without.

I have a question, maybe zotero, maybe bibtex.

I've found that zotero puts the PubMed PMID into the "extra field", which is converted to a bibtex note field. I do not want to clutter my bibliography with PMID's, but they are nice to have in the zotero database. I use a custom bibtex style created with makebst (I'm not an expert in this, but trying my best). I look through the makebst output (dbj file), and cannot find how to tell the style not to show the note field.

So, as you see, I am about to delete all these nice PMID's that zotero gave me. Any recommendations how to solve?
  • I use bibtool (http://www.gerd-neugebauer.de/software/TeX/BibTool.en.html) for cleaning up various aspects of Zotero's bibtex output (it can alter capitalisation, choose which fields to include, sort, etc), and creating my desired key format.

There are no binaries available for Windows, but it compiles easily under cygwin (or of course Linux or OS X).

Bibtool's config file syntax takes a little poring over, but once you've got it, it makes for a nice easy workflow: export collection from Zotero -> run bibtool. It would be even easier if Zotero allowed you to automatically run external tools on exports.
  • Hi CB. Thank you for your suggestion.

I tried bibtool, but it is not easy. It does not seem to be actively maintained. For example, it does not compile out-of-the-box for me on cygwin. I looked at the configure script, and it does not seem to be updated for cygwin's relatively modern version of tcl.

Or maybe there is a newer version somewhere else? The one on the web page is 2.46.
  • Sorry, you're right, I included the wrong link. 2.48 compiled on cygwin without modification for me, and is available on CTAN (or linked from http://www.gerd-neugebauer.de/software/TeX/BibTool/).