Style error: Journal of Structural Geology

CSL inputs citations in alphabetical order and then by date but Journal requires first by date and then by author: "Sort multiple citations in the text chronologically and then alphabetically, separate them by a semi-colon e.g. (Sprunt and Nur, 1976; Hickman and Evans, 1995; Lehner, 1995)."
With my zotero I have: ... lateMiocene (Casas Sainz and Faccenna, 2001; Ribeiro et al., 1990; Srivastava et al., 1990).
  • This style is dependent on elsevier-harvard.csl, which first sorts alphabetically and the crhonologically.
    @adamsmith, can you advise if we should make this an independent style? Style guide here: https://www.elsevier.com/journals/journal-of-structural-geology/0191-8141/guide-for-authors (this style guide doesn't mention CSL).
  • Thank You for your reply.
    I am not an expert on this but by tentative and error I changed the style to a personnel one and that solved de problem. But now I see that there are other differences between Zotero CSL and the required formatation for the Elsevier Journ. Struct. Geology. At least I saw differences on the bibliographic listing for Maps (editor and edition number not mentioned) and for Thesis (Zotero puts "Ph.D. Thesis" between brackets). I don't know how to change it.
    So I believe that you should make an independent style for this Journal.
  • @damnation --yes, this doesn't look very much like an Elsevier standard to me at all (e.g. the additional geological format, ordering, lack of italics, full journal names). Make it independent.
  • @jocarv2015
    Made a first quick draft. Can you let me know if it needs any more changes? https://github.com/citation-style-language/styles/pull/2603
  • Where do I find a link to the respective csl file?