Trouble for new Linux install on Mozilla Firefox with LO Writer Plugin

Hello,
I am completely new to Zotero.
I also just installed it on Ubuntu 14.04 (64bits), running:
- Mozilla Firefox 52.0.1 (Zotero v4.0.29.16)
- LO Writer 5.3.1.2 (Zotero LibreOffice Integration v 3.5.12).
After doing so I registered, added a couple of references in Zotero (the version integrated in FF) and checked that my syncing worked well. So far so good.

I viewed the youtube tutorials but when it came to including my first citation in LO writer, I just could find neither Zotero's plugin listed in LO Writer, not any menu allowing me to include references from Zotero.

I must be missing something basic. Can sb give me pointers ?
Thanks. -ced
  • Okay, so I removed the two extensions on Mozilla FF, downloaded the Zotero standalone Linux v5.0 beta... So my questions become:
    - Is there a user manual for that version ?

As there does not seem to be an easy install path I just plain extracted the tar.gz2 file and put the result in a directory of /opt/bin/Zotero/.
    - Is the only way to use Zotero to launch ./run-zotero.sh ?
    - Do I need to create an icon for it and launch by double clicking on the icon in order to launch from the GUI ?

Any help welcome. Thanks.
  • There's no particular user manual, no. Basic functionality hasn't changed; we'll document additional features with or shortly after the final release
    Installation is indeed to just extract & run (though I'd recommend doing this somewhere local, e.g. ~/.local/bin, so that you can update from within the software without running it as sudo).
    You also should run ./zotero not the bash script. Since 5.0 includes an Ubuntu desktop file, I think if you run it, you should see an icon in the unity launcher bar, which you can then "Lock to Launcher". There's a ticket for packaging Zotero for Ubuntu, but that's only going to happen if someone from the community picks it up.
  • edited March 23, 2017