Word cannot communicate with Zotero

I can't insert any citations in Word because when I try, I get this error "Word could not communicate with Zotero. Please ensure that Zotero or Firefox is open and try again." But of course both Zotero and Firefox is open. I have tried closing out of both and re-opening, to no avail. Firefox is 52.0 (64-bit). Mac system I am using is: 10.11.5 (15F34). I am not very tech savvy, so a response in layman's terms would be great. Everyone is always raving about Zotero, but I have never been able to get this citation thing to actually work, and I am so sad about it. This is just the most recent effort at trying. Thank you for your help. Brownels
  • Which Word version?
    And are you using Zotero Standalone or the Firefox add-on?
  • Hi Adam Smith, thanks. The Word version is: Mac 2011, with this update: 14.5.9. And I am using the Firefox add-on. Thx!
  • First thing to try would be to re-install Word components from the "Cite" tab of the Zotero preferences.
  • Hi--well I embarrassed to say this, but I cannot find a 'Cite' tab of the Zotero preferences. I can find the place to download the plugin (again), which in my view is under 'home' on Zotero. Is that what you mean? Apologies if I am being uber dense. I think I have tried re-downloading and re-installing but will do so again if you think this is the issue.
  • In Firefox, put about:addons in the URL bar and press return.
    Among the extensions, you should see "Zotero, the next generation research tool"
    Click on "Options" next to it. That opens Zotero's preferences. Click the Cite tab, the re-install Word components.
  • Hi, well I still can't see a cite tab, but I can see 'disable' and 'remove' as options. As well as 'preferences,' which does not show anything at all. Should I remove this add-on and then re-install? (BTW it says that the add on was last updated on march 4th).
  • Don't re-install, no. Under "More", what version number for Zotero does it give you?