Zotero fails to sync on Mac OS X

Report ID: 1639349816

I really have no idea what's going on - I'm a longtime Zotero user on Windows, and just switched over to Mac OS X Sierra and am trying to get my library to sync onto my new computer (MacBook Pro 13in Retina, early 2015). I can see most all my items metadata in the catalog, but the files aren't syncing. When I try to sync, it gives me a red exclamation point next to the sync symbol in the upper right corner, giving this strange error code:

Component returned failure code: 0x80520006 (NS_ERROR_FILE_TARGET_DOES_NOT_EXIST) [nsIFile.permissions]

This is on Zotero Standalone 4.0.29.15 for Mac OS X. I've also installed Zotero for Firefox and for Safari, but haven't used them yet. I've also installed the MS Word plugin.

Zotero still seems to sync fine on my Windows PC, so I don't think it's a problem with my account.

Please help - I'm a total Mac beginner and if Zotero doesn't work that's kind of a deal breaker for this computer...

• Don't worry — it'll definitely work fine with the Mac.

Can you provide a Debug ID (different from a Report ID) for a sync attempt that produces the error?
  • edited January 16, 2017
    Thanks for the reassurance!

Just after posting, I tried uninstalling firefox and zotero standalone and then reinstalled both and started zotero standalone again to see if it would sync. To my surprise, my catalog instantly appeared when I opened the program - I think when OS X uninstalled it, it didn't wipe the data/settings.

I turned on the debugger just before hitting the sync button, and to my surprise it worked for a while, but then stalled at 51% of my files. It didn't show an error, but it simply stopped progressing. I finally gave up after a few hours and closed Zotero, so the debug report doesn't end in an error per se, but a stall.