Three in text issues - et al. not appearing, initials of authors, a and b versions

Hi there

I am using this style (https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwizq4Lf9o3MAhUBJg8KHar-AYEQFggdMAA&url=https://www.zotero.org/styles/harvard-london-south-bank-university&usg=AFQjCNF9Y4WUvQLMjeeSCnAkyttWX67txw&sig2=ysnrkbF8uACXiY7bAk-VFw).

I am having some problems with the way the reference appears in text. There are 3 separate problems although they may be related.

1. For some references (but not all) the et al. is not appearing and I am instead getting a list of authors.

2. For some references (but not all) I am getting the initials of the authors appearing where it should just be their last name.

3. For some references (but not all) the same reference is appearing as a and b even though the reference is exactly the same.

I'd be grateful for any help with any of these issues. I am quite new to this so please bear with me.

Many thanks
  • Hi,

It kind of sounds more like that you have some references duplicated in your database and also with some data in fields (initials) where they shouldn't be. Could you maybe give some example references you're using and we can test it.
    I know that in Mendeley it didn't import PDF metadata really well and it was better to import references from pinned for example. Maybe it's something similar.
  • edited January 7, 2017
    Yeah, 3, is almost certainly a duplicate. 2. could be wrongly entered data, but might also be https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/given_name_disambiguation

1. could also be a form of disambiguation, possibly also caused by duplicates: the style adds additional authors to disambiguate between two different et als, i.e. If you have Smith, Meyer, Jones 2012 and Smith, Meyer, Jackson 2012, it shows all three authors rather than do Smith 2012a and Smith 2012b (which would suggest the same authors on both publications).