Idea? Using CSL Citation styles to output biblio in LaTeX

I am new to Zotero. The program looks great, although it will need some developments to be really useful to me. I am a LaTeX/BibTeX user, but also a keen programmer, so I could help develop some stuff.

Not quite sure if I am in the right discussion here. That might fit better in the plugin discussions.

Anyway, here is my idea: Currently, if you want to use Zotero with LaTeX, you need to export your bibliography to a BibTeX file, and then you need to use BibTeX and one of the BibTeX citation styles (the so-called .BST files). The sad thing about that approach is that you don't take advantage of the all the nice CSL files developed for Zotero.

Could we instead do something like that: Write a program, let's call it "bibzot", that would replace BibTeX and that would use Zotero dB and CSL files instead.

Bibzot would start exactly like BibTeX, i.e., read the .AUX file generated from the LaTeX document, and from there extract the name of the citation style (the name of a CSL style instead of a BST file) and the citations we want (all the \cite{..} labels) (we will need to find a way to map the citation keys used in LaTeX to the corresponding Zotero entries somehow). From there, Bibzot will then depart from BibTeX. Instead of reading a BibTeX file and run it through a BibTeX style file, it would get the bibliographic entries from the Zotero dB, and format them through one of the standard CSL file.

From there, how do we go about converting that output to LaTeX coding? I don't quite know what CSL output actually look like, I haven't looked that yet, but if it is XML or HTML, then converting to LaTeX should be relatively straightforward. From there, we write that into the .BBL file that LaTeX wants. Et voila!

What I am wondering is, first, is that a silly idea? Am I trying to make something simple in a very complicated way? Are other people interested in that? In my view, it would have some advantages: