How To Edit Citation Within Zotero Firefox eg. Adding URL & Citation Discrepancies

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Zotero but love the capabilities. I'm having trouble with a couple things.

I'm using Zotero directly in Firefox and writing in Microsoft Word for Mac, running Yosemite.

1) I can't find out how preview what a citation will look like and be able to edit that from within Firefox. The only option seems to be to be able to edit it within Word once I've entered the Endnote.

-The reason I'm wanting to do this is that many of the citations are not including the URL even though I have selected in the Zotero preferences to do so. So then I have to add it into the citation directly, BUT the edit window says that will make syncing no longer functional, which I don't totally understand.

2) Some citations aren't complete, despite all the information being in the Zotero. This happens even for ones pulled from journal sites that have ideal citation saving abilities.

3) Some pages/PDF especially save a a file and not exactly a citable file, so I create a new one and put the PDF into that. Not sure if that's the correct thing to do.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
  • Zotero has several citations styles. Which are you using? You may need to modify that style to display the URL to address #1 and it may be similarly deficient in some way for #2.

Re #3: for journal articles, click the translate button on the webpage for the article, rather than the pdf. If you have a Zotero webpage item already, you can customize the details to match the reference.

If you have a PDF that does not have a parent item, refer to:
    https://www.zotero.org/support/retrieve_pdf_metadata
  • Thank you so much for your response.

I'm using Chicago 16th at the moment. The odd thing is it's including the URL for some of the citations that are in the same category, but not others.

It's also not properly citing movies, etc when I do the "video recording" setting.