Loading a New Style

I am new to Zotero, and I am attempting to revise and load the Society of Biblical Literature style. I followed the instructions from another forum posting in regard to eliminating the "Ibid" function by editing the code. No problems there. I changed the id tag to point to the file as I saved it on my system. I completed the changes to the file using Notepad and then saved the file in .csl format. I then dragged the file into my Mozilla Firefox folder. As far as I can see from other discussions, I have followed the procedure correctly thus far.

However, that is as far as I get. When I open the list of available styles in the list in the Word plugin, my new style does not appear. Could anyone help me to understand how to get this new style functioning in Word?

Thanks,
RK
  • hmm - my suspicion is that you did the wrong thing with your csl file:
    don't drag it into the FF _folder_ - drag it right into firefox, i.e. into an open FF window, or just just the open file menu of FF.
  • Thanks for the reply. I tried both methods (dragging the csl file into an open FF window as well as opening the file with the open file menu option). In both cases, the coding of the file appeared in the FF window. I then opened Word and clicked on the Zotero Set Doc Prefs button. However, I still do not see my style listed. Here are the first few lines of my coding:

<style class="note" xml:lang="en">

<info>

<title>
    SBLstyleRK
    </title>

<id>
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\SBLstyleRK.csl
    </id>

Appreciate the help,
    RK
  • The file needs to have a .csl extension. Make sure Notepad didn't automatically add a .txt extension (which could be hidden if Windows is set not to display all file extensions).
  • Yes, the .txt extension problem did trip me up at first, but I already caught that and corrected it before trying to place the file into FF.
  • does FF prompt you with a question if it should install the new style?