items not added to My Library in firefox using url bar icon - no error

I am using Zotero standalone 4.0.25.2 and Firefox extension 4.0.26.4 on a Windows 7 (Ultimate) PC with Firefox 38.0.1. I am a graduate student in the Humanities using Zotero as a bibliography manager and, to a lesser extent, pdf manager.

When I click the url icon to add a citation (from an appropriate webpage) it appears to add the citation. The small window pops up in the lower right corner, reporting that such-and-such is being added to "My Library" along with associated screenshots or pdfs or whatever.

When I go to My Library, no items have been added. They are not in "unfiled" either. This has apparently been going on for two months without my noticing because my last add was in March.

I am writing this message from my online account in Firefox, so there is no problem with connecting to the account. Furthermore a citation added manually syncs correctly between the standalone and online libraries.

Is it possible that these citations have been saved in another place, such as a default or temporary folder?

Thanks for any help.
  • edited June 2, 2015
    a) update Zotero Standalone. You should be on version 4.0.26.3

b) It sounds like you're not sharing the data directories between Firefox and Standalone. See here for details:
    https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/sharing_data_directory

Here's what you want to do:

1) Close Zotero Standalone. Open Zotero for Firefox by clicking on the "Z" icon at the top right. Input your sync info there and sync the items you've saved over the last month to your online library. Sync will merge the two. It will _not_ delete/overwrite any items.

2) Follow the instructions on that page to point Standalone and Firefox to the same data directory.
  • edited June 2, 2015
    Thank you, adamsmith.

I updated to 4.0.26.4 (which took two manual prompts to update all the way, and this with the "update automatically" option checked!).