Security questions

Hi,

I work as a librarian for a health organisation and we currently use EndNote as a database to store and organise our documents and research. The problem with this is that I have the master library and I need to copy it onto USB regularly to distribute to other sites. With online syncing it looks as though Zotero would solve that problem and everyone would be able to access the shared database from their various locations.

However. I'd like to know about security as obviously we're handling some sensitive information. How secure is Zotero compared with EndNote? Do you know of any other organisations (particularly Health) using Zotero as a database rather than bibliographic software? Is this something that Zotero would be suited for, or is EndNote a better option at this point?
  • (I don't work for Zotero, so the below, while I believe well informed, is not an official statement).

Zotero by itself stores data locally, so that's as safe as your computer setup. I'm assuming you refer to using Zotero for sync, though.
    I know a lot of medical researchers do use Zotero and a lot of medical and nursing schools promote it, so it's certainly suited for that.
    (here's e.g. Kansas U Med: http://guides.library.kumc.edu/content.php?pid=417245&sid=3410390
    and Northwestern Med: https://galter.northwestern.edu/guides-and-tutorials/zotero there are many others)
    but for individual labs and organizations, it really depends on the level of security you need:
    Zotero does exclusively use secure connections (SSL) for any login and data transmission (actually, for anything on the Zotero webpage). No one will be able to read any data that you send to or receive from the Zotero servers.