Group Libraries and PDF/Zotfile use

Dear All,
I am a novice but happily created a workflow using zotero/zotpad/zotfile. I have now created a group library and added my research assistant so that he can input bibliography. My question relates to PDFs. Will sources that he adds that contain PDFs also be sent to my zotfile?
  • The answer is probably no--since linked files aren't supported in groups, Zotfiles move file feature isn't enabled for such groups--but it would help if you could clarify what exactly you want or expect to happen.
  • and what you "workflow using zotero/zotpad/zotfile" currently is
  • Let's see if I can channel the appropriate language here. I have created the settings necessary so that when I add a reference to my zotero library that has a PDF, zotfile also sends it to dropbox where I can then access and annotate it on my ipad and then send it back. So, a group library can't include PDFS at all? That doesn't make sense to me, as I have worked back through the forums and noted users who have ensured that the settings in their zotero preferences will allow for attachments in private/closed groups.
  • zotfile also sends it to dropbox
    This is done by taking the attachment from your Zotero data directory, copying it to Dropbox, removing the original attachment from Zotero, and attaching to the Zotero item a _link_ to the file in Dropbox.

For technical reasons (which are no longer valid), it did not make sense to sync file links in groups, because they would break on other people's computers. Thus, syncing file links in groups is not currently supported. Implementing this is relatively high on the agenda, but in won't happen very soon. So in the mean time, using Zotfile in the way you describe is not supported in groups.

You can certainly sync file attachments, but they have to remain in your Zotero data directory (as attached files, not linked), which also means you have to use Zotero web storage.