Personal Library to Group Library

I have another newbie question. We are having trouble with a document that seems to act as if we have exported and reimported the database, but that's not exactly what we did. We have the old data and have not made very many changes, so I would like to know what is the right way to do this.

Here is the background. I'm an editor, so I work with many different authors. A new client told me she uses Zotero, so I tried it out. While I've used other systems, I'm new to Zotero. My client told me that she can create a "group" to share her library with me so I can make the necessary corrections. She did this by copying from her library to the new group library she had created. However, when I click the Zotero Refresh button in Word, the bibliography does not pick up the changes I have made in the group library. We have confirmed that the citations in the document are still linked to my client's personal library, but that any new citations I enter are linked to the group library on both my computer and on the client's computer.

Given that we have made few changes to the group library, we could easily delete it. What is the proper way to make my client's library available to me for editing while it remains available to the client? Of course, I recognize that both of us editing the same library requires some care, but we can deal with those human protocols if we can get the technical aspects working.