large Procite bibliography: how to start?

I have quite a large Procite bibliography ( < 50.000 ) that needs to be imported into zotero. I gather, from discussion on this list, that the first step is to get those records into a RIS format, and I've guessed that to do that I need to use the Procite conversion utility "Biblio-Link II", which I've got.
But at that point I'm stuck. I can't seem to get it to work, nor do I really understand how to take it from there. (With zotero I'm a novice.) I'd be really grateful for a bit of advice.
Best,
Dr. Frederik van Gelder
  • I don't know much about Procite, but in general, once you have a RIS file, you click on the Gears menu in Zotero, select import, and select the file and it should import. It'll likely take a good while and Zotero may appear to freeze in the process. Just let it run. If you should get an "unresponsive script" message, click return.
  • Thank you. The problem is, I'm not quite sure how to get that Procite into RIS format in the first place, using that Biblio-Link.
    best,
    fvg
  • you shouldn't need a biblio-link tool.
    The general idea is the same as here:
    http://www.refworks.com/rwsingle/help/Exporting_from_Bibliographic_Programs_and_Importing_into_RefWorks.htm#ProCite

You'd need to find RIS.pos, which may be called Endnote-RIS.pos or something along those lines. There may be several of those around on the internet, so try them out. Unfortunately procite itself appears entirely dead, so you'll have to find it from somewhere else, maybe the one attached at the bottom here will do: http://www.adeptscience.co.uk/kb/article/223A