two quick questions: sqlite and search

Hi all,

I have used Zotero over the years but Endnotes used to be my primary software. With the new storage options, I am moving to Zotero hopefully for good. I am still learning and I tried to find the answer for these two questions on the forums but I am not sure I have the right path.

1. Is there an advanced/hidden option to turn off "search as you type"? It freezes Zotero constantly and I would like to lessen the burden on it until I have finished typing at least.

2. Much more important question: when I used Zotero casually, I had ZotFile put my files in a specific folder and I very much would like to keep that folder where it is. I don't recall when/how I did this but the sqlite is in the same folder. Before it didn't bother me because it was a small file. Now it is huge.

Is there a way to move everything EXCEPT the "storage" folder somewhere else? I read the articles on moving Zotero but I don't want to move the storage folder.

I thought about moving everything and again using Zotfile to point to that folder but I am hesitant to experiment. My library is way too big and as it is it has taken over a week to import the files and I don't want to mess up the process and restart.

many thanks
  • 1. Is there an advanced/hidden option to turn off "search as you type"? It freezes Zotero constantly and I would like to lessen the burden on it until I have finished typing at least.
    A straight quote (") at the beginning of the field disables search while you type until you press enter.
    Is there a way to move everything EXCEPT the "storage" folder somewhere else? I read the articles on moving Zotero but I don't want to move the storage folder.
    Not if you want to use Zotero file sync, no. I'm not quite sure I understand why it bothers you that the sqlite and the storage folder are in the same folder? What's the actual problem with this—the idea is that you'd never touch that folder manually, only via Zotero.