Secondary sources in Zotero

Hello I am a newbie to Zotero which I find excellent,

Does Zotero allow us to enter secondary sources now. I understand it was not possible before, but has this changed as yet? If so, how do I enter this information? I am using a mac.

If it is not possible, is there a work around? If so, please share.

Thanks

L
  • Do you mean by "secondary sources" one work as cited by another work*? If so, the answer is no. The best workaround is to put the work cited - i.e. the one which you don't have access to yourself - in a prefix of the citation. Since you haven't actually consulted that work, I would not include it in your bibliography.

*if so, that's not what people usually mean by secondary sources. A scholarly book about the US Civil War, e.g. is a secondary source, as opposed to the Diary of Gen. Sherman, which is a primary source.
  • Thank you, Mr. Smith.

I did, indeed, mean a source I had not accessed myself, but which was referenced in the body of another piece of work.

What do you mean by a "prefix" of the citation?

Separately. How would I reference a chapter written in a report by different authors from those who published the report. I have access to the report and can see the chapter written. How would I enter the actual authors of the chapter into Zotero.

Thank you in advance.

• What do you mean by a "prefix" of the citation?
    http://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_plugin_usage#prefix_and_suffix
    How would I reference a chapter written in a report by different authors from those who published the report.
    Zotero doesn't have report chapters, but Book Section should for all practical purposes work fine.
  • Thank you on both counts.

The only problem with using Book Section for a Section in a Report is that in Zotero the document will be classified as a book when, in fact, it is a report. Not a major issue.