Real REAL idiot's guide to bookmarklet for iPad please

Not like the IT guy talking to someone who knows a little bit version. But the imagine your grandma has walked in off the street and never used one version.

I am not new to Zotero. I am new to my iPad and now officially lost in what the difference is between standalones, connectors, translators, plug ins, versions and all that malarkey. And I have RTFM/forums but it still doesn't help. I've downloaded a whole heap of stuff but you can't download to an iPad can you cos it just wants to stick it in Dropbox. So I clicked the safari button on the right, and some monkey magic seemed to happen inside the machine. I followed prof hackers guide to creating a zoetrope bookmarklet, and I duly tried to download something on Web of Knowledge and EBSCO.

Nothing happened. Some error message came up. I tried on amazon. A different error message came up. Ok, I can go back and force my low attention span brain to cut and paste if you like but y'all probably know what I'm doing wrong already.

Can you just please walk me through, VERY SLOWLY and in words of one syllable, from pressing the little 'on' button on top of my iPad, right up to checking my lovely new updated collections when I get back to lovely safe Firefox on my pc.
  • Quite like that iPad autocorrects to zoetrope. Zotero, obv.
  • edited October 16, 2013
    I am new to my iPad and now officially lost in what the difference is between standalones, connectors, translators, plug ins, versions and all that malarkey.
    http://www.zotero.org/support/installation
    I followed prof hackers guide to creating a zoetrope bookmarklet,
    Link to guide?
    and I duly tried to download something on Web of Knowledge and EBSCO. Nothing happened. Some error message came up. I tried on amazon. A different error message came up.
    What did the error messages say?