Customized Zotero plugin for online text editor?

I'm a librarian at Cornell am working with a group of researchers who want to incorporate some kind of citation management system into their workflow on their online projects, huge online repositories of info on animals. On the public websites they maintain, each entry is essentially a formatted 5 paragraph essay with citations in text and a separate bibliography of all related articles. When a user clicks one of the in-text citations, a separate window pops up with the formatted citation. If the user clicks the references tab, a list of all related articles on the animal shows up in a separate window.

On the researchers' end, editors/authors log into the site and using an embedded javascript text editor make all the editing changes by hand. There’s code that then puts the formatted doc into their database when it’s done. What they'd like, if possible, is a system with an online database of all their references—a master library—that they could automatically draw from when they edit in the text editor and format citations. So far, it sounds exactly like what Zotero does. However, they want to do this online: the editor would login, and then in the text editor would click to insert citations, and the system would format the in-text citations and provide links to the separate pop up windows, which would contain the formatted citation.