Database version issues / MLZ compatibility to Database version

Hello, I have been getting this window message that:"This version of Zotero is older than the version last used with your database. Please upgrade to the latest version from zotero.org. Current version: 4.0.11 See http://zotero.org/support/kb/newer_db_version for more information. I went to the forums and did my best to follow the instructions."

Thus, I have been repeatedly going to the link to download the "newer version" on the Zotero home page for both the Firefox (it states that it is a 4.12 version but I later got the same message) and the Standalone for Mac (it states that it is a 4.11 version but I later got the same message too.) I installed the MLZ version of Zotero but could not make it work with these database issues so uninstalled it. So I went back to the basic Zotero software but am having the same issues all over again.

It has been so frustrating for a week now. Unfortunately, I am not very technically savvy. Would anyone be so patient as to set out how I can resolve this issue in a step-by-step fashion? Now I am not able to even upload my Zotero library which has more than 500 references already?

Thanks so much in advance for your kind assistance.
  • When you install MLZ, your database is upgraded to a newer version (because MLZ adds some extra features that official Zotero does not support). If you uninstall MLZ and try to go back to official Zotero, the newer version of the database cannot be interpreted, so you get the error that you're seeing.

Before the upgrade, MLZ should have created an automatic database backup. See if you can restore it using the directions here: http://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data#restoring_from_the_last_upgrade_backup The database file will be located in your Zotero data directory.

You are strongly advised to make a complete backup of your Zotero data directory before proceeding with any of these instructions.
  • Hello aurimas,