How to retrieve full text pdfs from the web for all my references at once automatically

Hello my friends,

I am a total newbie and I really need your help...

I have an existing Zotero reference library that holds about 300 references. Unfortunately, during the last FEW weeks I have NOT been saving the full text pdf files when I was adding a new item to my reference library.

So now, I am looking for a way to retrieve all the full text pdfs for EACH ONE of my 300 references (all at once) automatically.

I want a function that will allow me to:
- Save the full text pdf for each one of my 300 references (retrieve pdf files automatically from the web) ALL AT ONCE.

Does zotero have such a function (update and save locally all full text pdfs for all the items of an existing library automatically)?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH
  • no, currently the only way to do this is to download & attach the PDFs one-by-one.
    It's certainly something we'd like to be able to do and it's generally planned, but not going to happen very soon.
  • Thank you for the fast reply Adam.
    At least now I know that I have to do this separately for each one of the 300 references. It should take me less than one day to go throught the 300 references.

So, if I understand correctly, I should revisit the pubmed URL of each one of my 300 references and click AGAIN on the "save to zotero" icon? Is this all that is required for saving locally the full text pdf (in case it is available)? Or should I do something else apart from saving again the referene.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH Adam
  • Zotero doesn't download PDFs from pubmed ever (and never has).
    I guess the easiest would be to click on the DOI of the pubmed entry, download the full text from there (typically the publisher webpage) and attach it to the Zotero item. Just clicking on "Save to Zotero" again will just create a duplicate copy of the item, also without PDF.
  • OK, I will do that. Thank you Adam. You are very kind and helpful.