Integration with plain text editors > Multimarkdown Composer

Dear fellows,

I've been using Zotero since 2008, and I've been using Multimarkdown Composer for seven months --and therefore Multimarkdown syntax.

The "standard" way I found to deal with Zotero citations is simple: I cite using drag-and-drop and a Chicago Style adapted to MMD. I manually create a collection of the sources used in the text, and I export it as a Bibliography in the end, using another Chicago Style also adapted to MMD.

I know I could always use RTF Scan. However, I think that it keep TXT file dependent to further editing. I think that one of the advantages of using Markdown syntax is the ability to keep a single always-readable TXT file, that can be stored for years without future problems of incompatible software.

However, I wonder if a better integration between Zotero and MMD composer would be available. Perhaps a more "automatic" way to call the Zotero collections for citing other than dragging and dropping. Perhaps, also, a sort of "built-in" TXT scan, that automatically generates the bibliography when required.

I asked the developer of Multimarkdown Composer, Fletcher Penney, if the program would support a plugin. He answered:

> Composer does not support plugins.
> Composer uses standard NSTextViews, so it should be compatible with general approaches to this. For example, TextExpander can interface with almost any app on Mac OS X, including Composer.
> It's been a long time since I have looked at Zotero, but it would seem that should be the approach they use in order to allow one plugin to work with just about any application on the Mac.
> Papers 2 also has a general plugin that is compatible with Composer (just requires adding Composer to the list of known application IDs). I have used this for testing purposes, but haven't written anything real with it. It seems to work fine though.