Transfer via export/import broken without error message (won't import entries into subfolders)

Not sure if this has been reported before (I'm new to zotero and the forums) - however it has bitten me (not sure about the right term, my native language is German), so I'd thought I ask for help or at least do warn other affected.

From repeated tests I'm able to reproduce that (unfortunately) when I export a library in Zotero RDF format (regardless if with notes and files or without), then re-import into another (new) emply database, references in sub-folders are not restored (the folders are there, but empty).

With 'sub-folders' I'm referring to the second level of folders ('folders' being on the first level below the library root). Please note that the sub-folders themselves are restored - however they are empty.

I'm aware that the main entries themselves are still in the main library - it's 'just' (however it's a main annoyance) that the respective references in the sub-folders are lost.

Any idea as to why this is (a bug?) or how I can work around this? (I'm asking as my database got corrupted before I had a chance to save the zotero folder with the SQLite file itself - thus I needed to restore from an export I created along the way.

This will most likely also affect people who move data between machines/installations through RDF export/import.

This is on a German WinXP with FireFox 2.0.0.14.

Thanks in advance for any hints /comments.
  • Others have reported this. RDF export isn't intended for backup or to transfer your database to another machine--ideally, you should duplicate the zotero data directory.

Have you tried to use the database recovery tool?
  • Thanks for you follow up.

>>> Have you tried to use the database recovery tool?

I thought about asking but then just reimported the RDF export and fiddled with putting the references back into the sub folders (that worked, it weren't THAT many).