Backing up Zotero

Hi there --

I am a newbie. I tried to backup zotero using the instructions on the FAQs but I can't seem to find the file pathway. I have Windows XP.

Thanks,
Sarah
  • At the link below it is shown how to get to the preferences screen where you can find the path to the Zotero data.

http://www.zotero.org/documentation/zotero_over_a_network?s=backup

After following steps 2 and 3 on that page (going to the Preferences screen of Zotero and selecting the tab 'Advanced'), click the "Show Data Directory"-button. An explorer window will open showing you your Zotero data.
  • On a related subject -- does anyone have a magic incantation to make a text-format backup of the DB? I want something that when restored will re-create the DB with all the keys as they were. Export then import does not do this (as is well documented in the forum).

Why a text format? My reasons.
    - Copying the database simply copies problems in the database.
    - Having a text dump permits global text editing.
    - I might be able to build a DB merge hack.
    - I could possibly repair a text file by hand. Can't do that with a DB

I could probably make an SQL dump work for me, but I am hoping that someone has something better.
  • You can use .out and .dump from the sqlite3 command-line client to generate a complete SQL dump. Not sure what other sort of format you're looking for...

This is essentially what our DB Repair Tool is doing: dumping the entire database to text (which often works even if an index is corrupted) and importing it back in. We set PRAGMA auto_vacuum=1 on the new DB first to keep the DB size down.
  • Thanks for the pointer to the tool. I appreciate the time taken to talk to a newbie. :)