Multiple Accounts Mixing

I am a university student helping faculty members with their bibliographies, so I needed to be able to access multiple Zotero accounts on my personal laptop. Once I created and started putting libraries into the 2nd person's account, Zotero mixed the two different accounts' libraries even though I was always logged into the correct one in Firefox and the standalone. Now these two professor's bibliographies are mixed in with one another and I've tried everything imaginable to correct this, but I can't get them to be separate. Whatever I change in one person's, it does to the other's. I've tried using two different Firefox profiles, but that didn't work. Are there any other suggestions for how to separate these two accounts and keep them separate when I work on them in the future?

Thank you!
  • edited June 19, 2012
    You won't be able to separate them any other way than to manually delete all items that don't belong for each account and sync.
    It's not clear to me exactly what you did, but if you sync with an account, everything that you currently see in your library gets synced, so it sounds to me that Zotero did exactly what it was supposed to.
    Remember you don't actually "log-in" to a Zotero account - you just change the sync information.

There are two ways to solve this in the future:
    1. Use zotero groups rather than accounts
    2. Use two separate Firefox profiles (I believe you can also use profiles for Standalone)
    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/profile-manager-create-and-remove-firefox-profiles edit: how did that "not work"?
  • edited June 19, 2012
    It seems that you were not using separate profiles (by starting firefox or zotero standalone with the -p flag) but were simply changing the sync username and password. If that is the case, then be very careful how you untangle this mess.