Indexing in Zotero standalone -- limit characters or pages?

I've been using Zotero for several years now. I have traditionally not used the indexing feature -- I have many PDFs, and many of them are books, and I was under the impression that setting Firefox to work indexing them would slow down Firefox.

Now that I'm using the standalone version, I'd like to ask a couple of questions about indexing and performance.

1. Is there a reason why the indexing defaults are set to a limit of 100 pages per file 500,000 characters per file? If Zotero standalone is doing the indexing, should Firefox be able to work relatively speedily? Put another way, is there a performance drawback to setting Zotero to index as high as 350 pages, and perhaps 1 or 2million characters per item?

2. I store all of my PDFs in one folder in My Documents. My Zotero database has links for each entry, rather than the actual PDF. Will indexing from Zotero follow those links and actually index material that is stored in a separate folder, rather than within Zotero's own directory/program location?

3. Along the same lines, all of those PDFs are synced between desktop and laptop using an external syncing agent (Sugarsync), while Zotero itself is synced across computers using Zotero's own sync feature. The directory structures of both computers are identical. Will indexing work in this situation? Or will indexing take place independently on the two Zotero installations, and then cause a conflict when syncing occurs?

Thanks for your guidance.
  • 1. The performance issue is not during the indexing, but due to a very large index - the larger your index, the slower full-text searches will be. That's a trade-off, you'll have to see what's more important to you. I think the balance has tipped somewhat in favor of indexing more since the quick-search fields in both client and word-processor plugin are now restricted to title, author, and year by deafult.

2. yes