Recent changes to Chicago?

Since a few days ago, capitalization in my Chicago references has gone totally bonkers.
For example, this entry in my Zotero database:

Takahashi, Tomio. “Amerika no furontia gakusetu to Nihon no henkyō shigaku.” Hikaku Bunka Kenkyū Nenpō 6 (February 22, 1994): 1-17.
is cited as:

Takahashi, Tomio. “Amerika No Furontia Gakusetu to Nihon No Henkyō Shigaku.” Hikaku Bunka Kenkyū Nenpō 6 (February 22, 1994): 1-17.
Note that the article title has been changed. It shouldn't be (Romanized Japanese rules), and never was before. This seems to have been simultaneous to renaming the citation styles, which may be helpful in figuring out the issue.

Am I missing something here? Bottom line is that I need to restore the proper citation I've been using for several years with Zotero, but I can't figure out how to do that.

Looking forward to your assistance.

PS: I am considering migrating to the multilingual version in the hopes that such issues might be worked out. If anyone knows more about this, please let me know to ease my decision.

Thanks
  • I assume you're using 3.0rc1? In 3.0rc1, the redundant Chicago "(Note without Bibliography)" style was replaced with the main Chicago "(note)" style, since a "without bibliography" style is equivalent to just not generating the bibliography.

There were probably minor differences between the two versions (and the newer version is more likely to be correct based on standard Chicago rules). Someone else will have to comment on the actual style properties, though.

Nothing to do with regular vs. multilingual.
  • edited January 25, 2012
    Chicago has recently been changed to use title case. That's correct for all English language titles, but not, as you note, for any other language.
    Zotero will not use title case if the language field is populated and starts with anything different from "en". So put ja-JP in the language field for your Japanese citations and you'll be fine.