Forcing a New Line in a Bibliography

I'm a CSL newbie, feeling quite dumb after an afternoon of attempting something that seems simple. I want to produce a bibliography that includes abstracts. I was able to do that by adapting the Chicago style adding:
<text variable="abstract"/>
at the end of the bibliography section.
What I've not figured out how to do is to force this to start on a new line. It's undoubtedly simple, but I couldn't find anything in the Language spec or the examples I looked at.
  • edited January 14, 2012
    <text variable="abstract" display="block"/>
  • Actually, I'd tried that it didn't work. Here's the code:

<layout suffix=".">
    <group suffix=".">
    <group delimiter=". ">
    <text macro="contributors"/>
    <text macro="title"/>
    <text macro="description"/>
    <text macro="secondary-contributors"/>
    <group delimiter=", ">
    <text macro="container-title"/>
    <text macro="container-contributors"/>
    <text macro="locators-chapter"/>
    </group>
    </group>
    <text macro="locators"/>
    <text macro="collection-title" prefix=". "/>
    <text macro="issue"/>
    <text macro="locators-newspaper" prefix=", "/>
    <text macro="locators-journal"/>
    <text macro="access" prefix=". "/>
    </group>
    </layout>

it produces
    Doctorow, Cory. “Lockdown: The coming war on general-purpose computing - Boing Boing”, n.d. http://boingboing.net/2012/01/10/lockdown.html.The shape of the copyright wars clues us into an upcoming fight over the destiny of the general-purpose computer itself.....We haven’t lost yet, but we have to win the copyright war first if we want to keep the Internet and the PC free and open. Freedom in the future will require us to have the capacity to monitor our devices and set meaningful policies for them; to examine and terminate the software processes that runs on them; and to maintain them as honest servants to our will, not as traitors and spies working for criminals, thugs, and control freaks.