Toolbar problems Word 2004 Mac

Hi,

I've been using Zotero for several months now, including 2.1 Beta. Everything worked fine.

Now I have the following problem, I already looked up all the posts and procedures on toolbars and can't fix my problem.

I tried installing on another Mac and the Zotero toolbar fails to show up in Word 2004. I uninstalled Zotero and plugins on my Mac to try to replicate the problem. I replicated it and now can't get the toolbar in Word...

This is what happens:

I do a fresh install of Zotero (2.1 Beta or 2.0.9 - happens with both), and the two plugin files.

I open Word 2004 and there is no toolbar.

I go to Tools>Templates and Add-ins>

Zotero.dot is not listed there at all.

I click Add...

And find zotero.dot which is in: /Applications/Microsoft Office 2004/Office/Startup/Word

It is then checked and the toolbar shows up in word and all works fine.

HOWEVER, every time I restart word the Zotero toolbar has disappeared, and I have to go into Tools>Templates and Add-ins>

zotero.dot is now always listed there but UNCHECKED

So I have to check it and then the Zotero toolbar shows up and all works well.

It is annoying to have to recheck it every time I start Word, and it worked fine before I reinstalled Zotero... Why is zotero.dot always unchecked now...?

Any help appreciated...

Regards,
Martin.
  • You should never have to add Zotero.dot manually, and we do not recommend doing so.

Is "/Applications/Microsoft Office 2004/Office/Startup/Word" the Startup path displayed in Templates and Add-ins?
  • Hi Dan,

Yeah, I never use to have to do it manually, but since reinstalling or installing Zotero on other machines, I have to do it every time...

Yep that is the path displayed.

Martin.
  • I think the problem might be with the zotero.dot file....