How do I move my library from Zotero in Parallels/Firefox to Zotero in Mac OS/Firefox?

I'm a newbie with Zotero, and also newly switched to Mac from PC, so I think it was Parallels that got me confused. I installed Zotero and started my Zotero library using Firefox in Parallels, and then switched to using Zotero in Firefox without Parallels (i.e. just Mac). When I did that, I thought I had lost my whole library, because I couldn't find anything, but after trying some of the library-restoration tips in these forums I realized my library was stored in my Parallels version of Zotero.

Questions:

1. Doesn't it make more sense to use Zotero in Firefox without Parallels (to avoid viruses, for example)?

2. Because I thought I had lost my library, I tried re-installing Zotero in Mac Firefox (no Parallels). And I think I messed up my Zotero file in my non-Parallels profile, because there is no storage folder there (I had tried some of the library-finding techniques that included deleting extensions and moving sqlite files).

3. How can I move my library from the Zotero I have in Firefox/Parallels to a well-functioning copy of Zotero in non-Parallels Firefox?

Thanks in advance.
  • Ok, I think I did the right thing, or at least it seems to work: I found the Zotero folder in the profile of my Parallels/Firefox browser (not at all easy to find!), and moved it to the profile of my Mac/Firefox browser (which has a completely different profile name and path). I also then customized the Parallels/Firefox Zotero library location by pasting in the path to the Zotero folder that I had put into the profile of my Mac/Firefox browser.

Any comments as to whether I did the right thing here? Should I uninstall Zotero from the Parallels/Firefox browser to avoid synch problems? Or is this all a mistake, and Zotero works better from Parallels Firefox than from Mac OS Firefox?

Thanks!
  • you did the right thing. Absolutely no reason to run Zotero on Parallels.