Export Abstract

Hi all,

I am new to Zotero and I was wondering how I could export the abstracts that go with my citations. Every time I try to export I fail to bring the abstract. Also, if possible I would love to export to excel. Also, if possible I would love to export the location of the image file on my hard drive to excel.

Cheers,

Will
  • could you say more clearly what you mean by "export"?
    Actual exports - e.g. to RIS - include abstracts.
    Most citation styles don't, though, but see this thread for some options
    http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/73/annotated-bibliography/#Item_16
    Also reports have abstracts (right-click--> generate report).

There is no usable Excel export option - generally it wouldn't be impossible to create a citation style that exports to a semicolon-separated text file (which is like a .csv so Excel can import it). The main problem here is how you want it to look exactly - which fields go where etc.
  • Hmm, that is strange. I could not see anything that looked like my abstracts in RIS export which I opened with endnote. I will look. A little harder.

I am using zotero for non-citation based work. I am compiling webpages in an easily manageable format and hope to eventually use the new silverlight software, pivot.

My hope was to query my zotero data to produce .csv or .xls file which opened with excel to show each entry with the columns: path to image of website, blank, date that i entered (not any of the automatically generated dates), author name, title, abstract. The easiest way seemed like it would involve a zotero export function.

I don't really know if that is feasible or how to begin.
  • According to RIS specifications, Zotero puts the abstract in N2 - if I remember correctly, Endnote expects it in AB or so - which may sound more intutive, but is wrong.

For what you want, it would actually quite easy to write a csv export as a regular citation style if I understand you correctly: