entries with same year

hey,
I am quite new to zotero and trying to manage the literature for my phd with this tool.

so, and here comes a (possibly very simple) question, but it drives me crazy at the moment: how can I make differentiate zotero between book-entries of the same author AND the same year? I want the program to automatically count "smith 2008a" and "smith 2008b", for example? anybody out there willing and able to help me?

thank you,
j.
  • why does it drive you crazy? No, seriously, zotero already does it when you generate a bibliography. It is handled by the different styles (preview here: http://www.zotero.org/styles), so select a style that does it in a manner that suits you. In your library, you do not see any of this, but this is also not necessary.
  • thank you, and it is good to know that it works in the bibliography.

BUT, still, it drives me crazy, 'cos I would need the information already in the library as I need to know which abbreviation I have to put in the footnotes.

so do I have to imprint the bibliography first to know which "smith 2008xx" is the right one to put in the text? seems awfully complicated to me!
  • The bibliography entries and the Zotero-inserted citation references in the document will match; it's all handled automatically.
  • and that is the only way this can work: Because whether something is Smith 2008a, 2008b, or 2008c isn't a stable feature, but depends on the other citations in a document.
  • ok, now I see my problem, the "Zotero-inserted citation references" just do not work on my computer.
    may this be a mac problem????
  • the "Zotero-inserted citation references" just do not work on my computer.
    What do you mean by this?
    may this be a mac problem????
    Zotero is used on Macs (and many of the development team members use Macs).
  • when trying to install the plugin for zotero 1 for mac, it does not work - but I guess because I do something wrong...