Does Zotero run substantially slower on Macs?

I've been using Zotero on my MacBook for several months now. Yesterday I downloaded it to a Dell desktop at my office and was suprised to find that the Windows version navigates and adds tage much, much more quickly than on my laptop. Is the issue with my machine or does the Windows version of Zotero just work that much better?
  • zotero is mostly developed on Macs & I use it on win32, os x, and (both x86 and x86-64) linux. I haven't noticed substantial OS dependent performance issues. (There have been visual rendering quriks depending on platform, though--performance may not be identical either.)

Since you've been running it for several months, you might check that you have the most recent version on the Mac (there have been performance improvements with updates). Also: what about your collection size?
  • 1) Is this with the latest version on both machines?

2) Is this using the same library? Currently, adding of tags will become substantially slower the more tags you have.

3) It may come down to hard drive speed. Laptop hard drives are almost always considerably slower than desktop hard drives, so operations involving disk seeks could be slower on the MacBook. You can use Activity Monitor (or something like MenuMeters) to see what exactly is slowing down performance.

4) I'm not aware of any major performance differences between platforms. Database access was actually much faster on Macs until a recent upgrade of Zotero, which should've brought Windows performance more in line. Firefox, however, is generally slower on Macs than on Windows, so it may come down to the respective JavaScript implementations on each platform...