FF3.6,multiple large docx, Zotero migration with thousands of references

All of my document have been written in Word 2007 on multiple computers and synced using Windows Live Sync, as recommended by Zotero.
I am a late stage PhD student with some troubles.

Almost hourly, Firefox is demanding that I upgrade to 3.6. But I can’t use Zotero 1.X on FF3.6. So I would have to upgrade. But I can’t port all of my documents into 2.0.

“Documents used with the Zotero 1.0 plugins must be upgraded to work with Zotero 2.0 on the same computer on which they were previously used. If you upgrade them on a different, synced computer, you may end up with mismatched citations.”

I also read on the forums that you cannot easily move a document from 1.x to 2.0.

Any advice? Any links that make this feasible?
  • I Firefox downloaded, against explicit settings in "Tools | Advanced | Update", and then install automatically this morning, disabling Zotero.

If I were in your shoes, I would go to "Tools | Advanced | Update" and uncheck everything under "Automatically Check for Updates To". Don't let Firefox do anything until your problem is resolved.
    Firefox
    Add-Ons
    Search Engines
  • What you could try to do is use friend's computer for testing purposes? So install ff3.6 and zot2.0 and try several docs used for your thesis: export your zot1.0 library and import it in zot 2.0 in FF3.6. After that open some of your docs and try to refresh your citations in those documents.

But since you are a late stage PhD student I would not take too many chances and stick with Zot1.0 for the time being. After that, upgrade to 2.0 when you are a post-doc ;)
  • One additional thing: Back up everything under "Zotero Storage" immediately/
  • My Zotero 1.x db is on 4 computers simultaneously because of the Windows Live Sync setup.

I am not too worried about it disappearing. I am really worried about corrupting it.