Most reference entries lost after clicking “Unlink Account” (2 questions)

This discussion was created from comments split from: data recovery of zotero.
  • Most reference entries lost after clicking “Unlink Account” (2 questions)

Hi dstillman and everyone,
    I am new to Zotero. I am using the most recent version (7.0.1) in my Mac. I found out that Zotero does not allow you to create multiple RDF files. It looks like that I can only one RDF file. I duplicated the 1st RDF file I created and tried to use the 2nd file for a different paper. However, whenever I made some change to one of the RDF files, the other file would have the same change at the same time. This is pretty annoying, and I would like to have each RDF file for a different paper. I don’t want to have a single RDF file with unrelated reference entries when I work on a different paper. Question 1. How to create multiple RDF files not connecting together?

Yesterday I was trying to use the web version of Zotero with the hope that I can have different files for different papers in the web version. After I clicked “Settings” below “About Zotero,” I then clicked “Sync,” the reference entries I had in my Zotero file in my Mac did not appear in the web version. (BTW, I only have “Settings” in my Zotero interface, I don’t see a “Preference” tab).

Then I clicked “Unlink Account” under “Sync.” Then a complete disaster happened: most of the reference entries in my Zotero file in my Mac disappeared with only 4 reference entries left! It took me a lot of time to get those reference entries into my Zotero file, and they were mostly gone now. Question 2. How to restore the lost reference entries?
    BTW, I don’t see a folder named “storage” inside my Zotero folder; Also, I only see a file named zotero.sqlite and a file named zotero.sqlite-journal; I don’t see a file named zotero.sqlite.bak files.

I look forward to your advice. Thanks!
  • edited 26 days ago