Citing in Word with Zotero 7

I have been using Zotero 7 with any problem for the last several months. Yesterday, when I tried to insert a reference in Word I got the message that "Word could not communicate with Zotero..." I deletet and re-installed the *.dotm file in Add-ins but it did not work. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks.
  • It would be helpful for you to report your operating system and Word version.
  • I have the same problem. I've also reinstalled the word plugin, and restarted both (and the PC).
    Oddly, if you switch briefly to the Zotero interface, and then back to Word and try again, it does seem to load.

I'm using :
    - Word 2019 Professional Plus 64 bit
    - Zotero 7.0.0-beta.83+066eda731 64 bit
  • The only thing I haven't tried is disabling security (because I'd have to check how on a managed machine), it's also intermittent as described which seems inconsistent with the troubleshooting
  • Same issue here, never had a problem like this before. I'm using the latest beta on Windows 11 and Office Professional Plus 2021.
  • edited June 7, 2024
    @sjgknight @epeva what is the full version number of Word and Windows that you are running? Are you running any proprietary security software?
  • @adomasven
    Microsoft Office LTSC Professional Plus 2021 Version 2108 (Build 14332.20685)
    Windows 11 Pro 22H2 Build 22621.3593

No proprietary security sofware.

If I restart zotero and word, I can add/edit citations once (or for a bit of time). After that, I get the communication problem.
  • Does it work consistently with Zotero 6?
  • I don't keep Zotero 6 anymore. Any way of trying zotero 6 without altering zotero 7 addons and conf? I have tried it before and it removed my zotero 7 addons...
  • @epeva @sjgknight Once it starts working, does it stop working before restarting Zotero? Does refocusing the Zotero window make it work again? Or does it only break after a fresh restart?