Large lit search --getting started

I am just getting started w/ Zotero, so not quite sure what functionality there is and what might be in a plug-in.

I have a large lit search (hundreds of individual .ris, .bib, and PubMed nbib files ,and maybe 300 PDFs filess that *should* have a corrsponding citatiion file). I need to get the citations and the PDFs all into the app,, and married up.

Becuae I ended up using Google Scholar for a bunch of the search, rather than PubMed or Ovid, I miassing key things like PMID, MeSH headings, and often the abstract is AWOL.

I was sort of hoping that there was a way once I got the DOI (and I think there is a plugin that can fetch the PMID) that something would prompt it to fill in the missing fields. Obviously, with bibliography this large (and getting larger) I really need the abstract and MeSH just to find things.

I am sure there is kludge I can spend all day figuring out that does a search using the PubMed Ids and/or Joural name, provided they used compatable abbreviations, and the name of the paper to repeate the entire search in Ovid and then download abstract, MeSH and metadata in a single file.

Some of the PDF and citation files (eg. which comoe from the publishers' web site) seem to have some common string in thefile name, but that isn't remotely close to consistent (and Google is super hepful and calls every exported citation "scholar.ris") and more than a few publishers label their papers "download.pdf" so really just a mess w/o processing the actual content fo the files.

If this is described someone where, I am find w/ point in the right direction. But all the other times I found that someone wanted to import citations from a directory they seemed to do it one citation at a time, which is an aful lot of work w/ hundreds of citations and hundreds of PDFs.