PDF management and alias

Hi,

I'm new to Zotero and just moved from Endnote (I regret every cent I paid for it, but that's another story). I've been reading many discussions in the forums and installed some plugins. It's been interesting so far.

I stumbled on a discussion about storing all the PDFs: https://forums.zotero.org/discussion/34866/using-zotero-to-store-all-my-pdfs. The PDF reader inside Zotero is too good not to use it! But 10 years after I first set foot inside a university, I now have some 40 GB of PDF (as you can imagine, the folder structure is quite complex), and duplicating it inside the Zotero directory doesn't seem like a good idea. There's the "link" option, which is perfect for my (and others, I suppose) needs. The problem with that option is that the links must be manually set up for each entry. I've moved the Endnote library into Zotero; I've got about 900 references (which is far from the totality of the 40GB).

I hacked my non-programmer brain and thought I had come up with a solution: "What if I create an alias of those PDFs and import that into Zotero? It sure will work. Nope."

My question to the community is this: "Would it be a viable solution?" I've set up tags inside macOS ("articles", "books", "working papers"). I could pick up just the articles and batch-create aliases for them all - some of the articles have DOIs - then I could let Zotero import the aliases and move the original files freely in my complex folder structure. Since an alias is just a pointer to the original file, Zoter could read it like a path to the original file, maybe? That could work for it to access the DOI information and display the actual PDF in its PDF reader.