Cautionary tale: Nearly deleted 1712 references accumulated and annotated over 7 years!

I recently found myself needing to change back-end WebDAV providers for Zotero client storage. (see https://forums.zotero.org/discussion/107883/webdav-4shared-verification-failed for the entire sordid story.)

The last client I had to change was on my IPhone. I was hurrying through the process and not reading the screen as carefully as I should have and answered Yes to a prompt like "Do you want to delete your Zotero account?". I'm a student on my last undergrad semester with zero financial aid left to repeat any courses, and loss of my Zotero content would have had really dire consequences.

Luckily, I have Group Libraries set up and got a response similar to "You cannot delete your Zotero account if you have group libraries." Thank the GODS! I would have been completely sunk if I had deleted my Zotero account.

Other than telling my story, here's my two objectives for this post.

1) I would urge anyone who depends on Zotero to have at least one group library as a safety from accidental fumble-fingered account deletion.

2a) I'd like to know if there's a way I can do periodic backup in case I do delete my account? I see in my local data directory there is an sqlite database consisting of zotero.sqlite and zotero.sqlite-journal files.

2b) Is there a procedure to rebuild my Zotero content and re-associate it with the right WebDAV files should I accidentally delete my account?

Hopefully,

-KwM-
  • edited October 13, 2023
    2 Your backup needs to include both data and attachments ...
    https://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data#backing_up_your_zotero_data
  • and related, 2b) you can rebuild your account from the local database, yes, though it's going to be a bit of a mess with a deleted account