Help with connecting Zotero to Word

Hi everyone,

This is my first time consulting in this forum so please bear with me!

I am installing Zotero in a new desktop and it won't connect to Word, even if I followed the instructions of reinstalling in Zotero preferences again and again, reinstalled word as well, etc.

The extension simply will not show up when I open a Word document.

Thank you for your help!
  • Thank you Donna. I tried a variety of things in the multiple page instructions, to the best of my ability. I find everything very confusing so I do not know if I did things correctly and I cannot really reproduce with words what the Zotero support technicians (who emailed me) want me to explain, as they write, "exactly in my own words". This message is for the technicians who also told me to not email "support" only dedicated to log in or other limited problems.

The only thing I could retrieve from the multiple links I click on and instructions I tried to follow is a file called Zotero.dotm. That said, I do not know what to do with this file or if it would help me fix things, even if I observed, opening the file, that it looks like a simple word file, yet unlike other word files, it includes the Zotero extension.

So this final message is for the support technicians. Dear support technicians, I'm replying here as you instructed via email. I have a paid Zotero account (as probably many people in this forum do) that I have used until now very productivity with my research assistants. Unfortunately if I cannot resolve this problem I will have to move myself and my team back to Endnote. Even II prefer Zotero, Endnote offers very prompt phone support and their technicians are very patient and will stay with you until you resolve the issues. The price is the same. Please advise.