Feature Request (for v7 or add-on developer): Publish or Perish integration

Hi all,

I'm currently undertaking a systematic literature review, I'm very grateful for where Zotero is at with version 6 so thank you all for the hard work.

I've come across Harzing's Publish or Perish, which is a very small-footprint desktop app which allows me to search the more "open" databases such as google scholar, PubMed etc without having to log in to sites, and then lets me access full text.

I am not a coder but the feel of this programme is not a million miles away from Zotero, and would love to see this database search functionality built in, or added on for a workflow that starts even earlier in the research process!
  • Not a developer, but very intrigued by the request: how do you imagine this integration? What would be the use case?
    The request sounds a bit strange to me, because I feel that Zotero and Publish or Perish are competing products: they aim for rather similar goals (collecting and managing references) through different paths. Can you explain in more details what you would like to do?
  • edited July 3, 2023
    Something similar exists within the EndNote (shudder) desktop app. The user can search the usual databases (i.e. Web of Science), save the search, and export the results to a collection within the app.

I'm not suggesting that Zotero does the same strange integrations with universities that EndNote does. Still, I feel that the "PoP" functionality, which would speed up searches of the more esoteric engines, would add a lot - because those are the most laborious sites to navigate as an student.