proper way to use multiple profiles

Hi,

Zotero 6.0.26 (and pretty much all versions since 5.x) running on Linux Mint 21.1 vera (or MacOS whatever, for that matter).

I have two profiles that I use with Zotero... Academic, for my research and Technical, for my technical interests. I have about 1200 items in academic, and 700 in technical. I don't want to mix them.

I've been running with this setup for a few years now and other than when I rebuild my working environment and have to figure out how to get Zotero working with the two profiles again, it works great.

After lots of frustrating attempts to figure out the way to make this work, I have given up and I'm asking for help.

What I want to happen:

I want to have two profiles, Academic and Technical.
I want them to reside on my ZFS pool, ark, which is fault tolerant, snapshotted, backed up etc, mounted on /ark.

I want to be able to start Zotero and pick one or the other.

What isn't working... is having,

/ark/Zotero Academic
/ark/Zotero Technical

symlinked to:
~/Zotero Academic
~/Zotero Technical

The symlinked profiles don't appear to be picked up by Zotero and even if I just try to point to the data dir, the symlinks are greyed out, telling me that maybe Zotero doesn't like symlinks :).

What works, but isn't ok, is making copies of the two dirs in ~. Cuz, then I have two copies of each to sync. I want one copy of each and I want them to live on /ark.

Is this possible? If so, thanks for tips, if not, what's the recommended way to do it?

I don't totally understand the relationship between the profiles. It seems like if I point it to an existing directory that already contains a profile that it creates a new one and ignores the existing one (unlike calibre that lets you point to an existing one and just uses it, which would solve this problem and let the profile live anywhere).

Thanks,

Will