Trouble(s) editing CSL file

I'm new to Zotero (been using Mendeley for many years, but recently had compatibility troubles with Word, which Zotero does not seem to have). But one thing I liked about Mendeley was the simplicity of editing/loading styles. I'm having two problems: 1) I almost always use the Nature style, and the CSL file provided is not publication-quality because it always overwrites the Word format of my Bibliography by producing a double-spaced output in Times New Roman, whereas I'd like it to respect my choice of document font and spacing. 2) When I thought I had found the line(s) in the code where I could edit #1, and I see that I can Save As ... (e.g. Nature-2.csl), that is saved into a local directory. The next time I fire up Zotero, it does not know that Nature-2.csl exists and there is not "Open" function to load it up. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks! Albert.
  • edited January 7, 2023
    But one thing I liked about Mendeley was the simplicity of editing/loading styles.
    Zotero and Mendeley use the exact same CSL styles. There's no difference here, other than Zotero getting more frequent style updates and having more up-to-date support for some CSL features.

Zotero doesn't control fonts in any way (and I don't think Mendeley does either). To modify that, you can modify the "Bibliography" style in Word.

Line spacing is determined by the CSL style, which should follow the style guidelines. If you want to override that for some reason, see Editing CSL Styles. You have to change the id if you don't want it to be overwritten, and you install it from the Cite pane of the preferences where you manage all styles.