Newbie Question: Aggregating quotes from multiples sources by tag

Greetings friends,

I'm fairly new to Zotero, coming from Citavi, and I'm still trying to find my way around. I successfully completed a project, but I'm trying to understand how to improve my workflow.

Here's where my question comes in: in Citavi, my process was to go through a PDF in Citavi, mark relevant passages and add a tag to it, usually for "Chapter 1 Material", "Chapter 2 Material" and the like, and then when I felt ready to write, I would use the Citavi function to show all "Chapter 1 Material" passages I marked throughout all the PDFs in my collection to write the chapter.

Unfortunately, I couldn't find a way to have Zotero just show me an aggregated list of every passage I added to a specific tag, so I juggled back and forth between multiple PDFs - fine for a small project, but a nightmare for larger projects.

What am I missing? Can someone point me in the right direction? Guidance would be greatly appreciated!
  • +1. I am wondering, if there is any workaround or if this feature is on the roadmap at all. I really enjoy using Zotero, but it seems like it is currently not possible to click on a specific tag and list all passages/lines from every document in your project at a time. Right now, clicking on a tag just highlights tagged files. Then one has to scroll through all the highlights/annotations on a per-file basis, which is quite a cumbersome solution!

Help is indeed highly appreciated!
  • edited August 16, 2024
    Yes, annotations will be shown in the items list in a future version, so it will be possible to match against them directly, create a note from just those annotations, etc.
  • By item list you mean the overview of all the files one has imported into a project?
    In Qualitative Data Analysis apps, there is a button for codes that allows to open lists separately. Adding them to the items list might cause quite some clutter I assume?